An Election was held on Saturday, May 1, 2021, the official results for the Election are below. 

The City Council canvassed the election results at a special meeting on May 10, 2021, at 6:00 pm. 

Click here for all election results across the County.

Council Member, Place 5 Percent Votes
Donovan Heinrich 30.48% 288
Jim DeLand 69.52% 657
    Total 945
Proposition A - Road Construction Bond    
For 62.06% 656
Against 37.94% 401
    Total 1,057
Proposition B - Fate Development Corporation     
For 78.56% 817
Against 21.44% 223
    Total 1,040

Road Construction Bond Election

Termination of the Fate Development Corporation

Members of the City Council are elected for three-year terms on a nonpartisan basis. The Council is made up of seven members: a Mayor and six Council members. The Mayor is elected by the entire city. All six Council Members are also elected by the entire city. Once elected, Council members choose the Mayor Pro Tem and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem from among the elected members.


The City contracts with the Rockwall County Elections Office to conduct our elections. Please contact the Rockwall County Elections Office at (972) 204-6200 or visit their website at www.rockwallvotes.com for information regarding voter registration.